Reclamation Awards

The TRCR has several different types of awards that it gives out on an annual basis.

Jake McDonald Annual Reclamation Award &
Category Reclamation Awards

Under the auspices of the Technical and Research Committee on Reclamation a sub-committee is drawn from the group to decide on the Annual Reclamation Award winners. This typically includes the B.C. Ministry of Energy and Mines, B.C. Ministry of Environment, Mining Association of BC and academia.

The Jake McDonald Annual Reclamation Award has been established to recognize outstanding achievement in mine reclamation in British Columbia. In addition to this award, up to five category awards may be given to recognize merit in mining reclamation.

↑ Top

Tony Milligan Book Award

Tony Milligan was a pioneer in mine reclamation in BC, a founding member of the TRCR and part of the reason Elkview won so many reclamation awards. Tony was also a role model for how to discuss controversial topics in a constructive and respectful manner. Tony passed away a number of years ago, and to honour his memory, the TRCR set up an annual book award to be given each year to the author(s) of the paper at last year’s symposium that best exemplifies Tony’s interests in the practical aspects of reclamation.

  • The 2022 Book Award Winner was for Applications for remote sensing by unmanned aerial vehicles in reclamation monitoring  authored by Jeff Anderson, Melissa Iverson and Ben Pearse of the Integral Ecology Group. Mapping by unmanned aerial vehicles is a relatively new tool which is becoming more accessible and with an increasing set of sensors has many potential applications in mine reclamation. This paper discussed the practical application of drone technology and use of the resulting spectral, textural, and contextual pixel information for various reclamation monitoring applications. The paper also provides an interesting case study of the authors own work.

↑ Top

Jake McDonald Memorial Scholarship

To encourage student participation in reclamation-related fields, the BC Technical and Research Committee on Reclamation has student attending to assist with the Symposia (see Student Information) and awards the Jake McDonald Memorial Scholarship, which is given to support a student (or students) in a scientific field related to reclamation. This scholarship was established in honour of Jake McDonald, former Senior Reclamation Inspector in the Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources.

  • RECENT SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS – In 2022 the winners were Behnaz Bahroudi and Shesley Callison-Hanna from Thompson River University (TRU). Behnaz is in her second year of the MSc in Environmental Science Program at  TRU, and her research investigates the influence of topsoil-till cover depths and amendments on ecosystem reclamation and hydraulic infiltration rates for reclaimed tailings facilities at the New Afton mine. Shesley is in her second year of the MSc in Environmental Science Program at TRU and is a member of the Tahltan Nation. Her research focuses on the impact of drought on productivity and community composition of an agronomic grassland community at Highland Valley Copper along with a focus on understanding Nlaka’pamux community members perspectives on ecosystem restoration and mining reclamation practices.
  • Student Information

↑ Top

Science Fair Award

For some years, until 2013 , the TRCR provided a $500 Student Award to the Provincial Science Fairs Program for an outstanding project dealing with reclamation or environmental protection with preference given to a mining related topic. This award was presented to a Grade 11 or 12 students intending to enroll at a post-secondary institution. The previous award recipients are shown below.


↑ Top