In 2019, scholarships were awarded to the following four students:

Bilawal Soomro – University of British Columbia

Chantelle Gervan – Thompson Rivers University, Kamloops

Ashley Fischer – Thompson Rivers University

Brandon Williams, Thompson Rivers University

Bilawal Soomro is an undergraduate mining engineering student at the University of British Columbia involved in a research project to investigate the ability of mine tailings to directly capture carbon dioxide.

Three Master in Science students in Environmental Science at Thompson Rivers University received scholarships: Chantelle Gervan, who is studying invertebrate response to mine reclamation; Ashley Fischer, whose research focuses on investigating topsoil stockpiles and native soil inoculations; and Brandon Williams, who is studying the use of prescribed burns as a reclamation tool for mine sites.

2019 student scholarship winners receiving their cheques from Wendy Gardner, TRU



More about the Jake McDonald Memorial Scholarship, including Student Information on nominations and/or scholarship applications

Previous recipients